Workin’ 9 to 5 (and how brogrammer culture is affecting diversity)

I’m not sure I agree with all of his points, but this man may be on to something.

The EcoFeminist

(image source) (image source)

Hi everyone! This week I’m thrilled to have technology leader Rian Schmidtguest blogging. While I’ve known him for a few years in the software engineering community, most recently I’ve been absolutely diggin’ his articles on LinkedIn – also posted here on his blog. He has killer insights and the career street cred to back it up, so I asked if he’d share with me his perspective as a man in the tech world having experienced both the Silicon Valley and Silicon Forest. I see not only women turning away from tech careers, but also men who don’t fit in the stereotypical brogrammer“persona. Hiring managers are turning down amazing candidates and the trends have become clear: the concept of “fit” is all too often being used to avoid diversity and create cultures where it’s less about creating a truly great product and more similar to…

View original post 935 more words

Leave a Reply

